Why use secure deletion?

Betriebssysteme löschen nicht wirklich den Inhalt einer Datei, wenn diese gelöscht wird, auch nicht, nachdem der Papierkorb entleert wurde oder die Datei explizit entfernt wurde, zum Beispiel über die Kommandozeile.

Instead, they simply remove the file's entry from the file system directory, because this requires less work and is therefore faster. The contents of the file—the actual data—remain on the storage medium. The data will remain there until the operating system reuses the space for new data.

Gleichermaßen garantiert das Neuformatieren, Neupartitionieren oder Neueinspielen eines Abbildes eines Systems nicht, dass auf jeden Bereich des Laufwerks geschrieben wird, obwohl dies alles das Laufwerk in den meisten Programmen als leer erscheinen lässt oder im Falle des Neueinspielens eines Abbildes leer bis auf die Dateien, die im Abbild enthalten sind.

Finally, even when the storage medium is overwritten, physical properties of the medium might make it possible to recover the previous contents. In most cases however, this recovery is not possible by just reading from the storage device in the usual way, but requires using laboratory techniques such as disassembling the device and directly accessing/reading from its components.

To learn more, see the Wikipedia article on data erasure.

Warning about USB sticks and solid-state disks

The only way to securely delete any data, even a single file, from a USB stick or an SSD (Solid-State Disk) is to securely erase the entire device.

For more details read the corresponding section of the Wikipedia article on data erasure.

Securely delete files

Das sichere Löschen von Dateien löscht keine potentiellen Sicherungskopien der Datei (beispielsweise erstellt LibreOffice Sicherungskopien, die es Ihnen erlauben Ihre Arbeit wiederherzustellen, für den Fall, dass LibreOffice nicht mehr reagiert).

  1. Open the Files browser.

  2. Navigieren Sie zu dem Ordner, der die Dateien enthält, die Sie löschen möchten.

  3. Wählen Sie mit der Maus die Dateien aus, die Sie löschen möchten.

  4. Right-click (on Mac, click with two fingers) on the files and choose Wipe.

  5. Bestätigen Sie.

  6. The deletion will start. It can last from a few seconds to several minutes, according to the size of the files. Be patient…

Securely clean available disk space

Um die Inhalte aller Dateien, die zuvor ausgelassen wurden, aber nicht sicher von dem Laufwerk gelöscht wurden, zu bereinigen, ist es auch möglich jeglichen freien Speicherplatz auf dem Laufwerk sicher zu löschen.

Diese Vorgehensweise funktioniert mit Solid-State-Disks oder USB-Sticks nicht wie erwartet.

The disk or the folder can contain other files. Those files will not be deleted during the operation.

  1. Open the Files browser.

  2. Wählen Sie im linken Speicherbereich das Speichermedium aus, welches Sie bereinigen möchten, um in das Stammverzeichnis des Speichermediums zu navigieren.

  3. Click on the Menu button in the right corner of the title bar and choose Show Hidden Files.

  4. If you want to empty the trash, delete the .Trash-1000 folder or similar.

  5. Right-click (on Mac, click with two fingers) in empty space in the right pane and choose Wipe available diskspace.

  6. Bestätigen Sie.

  7. The cleaning starts. It can last from a few minutes to a few hours, according to the size of the available diskspace. Be patient…

    Note that a file with a name similar to tmp.7JwHAyBvA9 is created in the folder. It is made as big as possible to use all the available diskspace and then securely deleted.

Securely erasing an entire device

This technique is the only way to securely delete any data, even a single file, from a USB stick or an SSD (Solid-State Disk).

  1. Open the Disks utility.

    All the current storage devices are listed in the left pane.

  2. Plug in the USB stick or SSD that you want to securely delete.

  3. Ein neues Medium erscheint in der Liste der Speichermedien. Wählen Sie es aus:

  4. Check that the description of the device on the right side of the screen corresponds to your device: its brand, its size, etc.

  5. Click on the Menu button in the titlebar and choose Format Disk… to erase all the existing partitions on the device.

  6. In the Format Disk dialog:

    • Choose to Overwrite existing data with zeroes in the Erase drop-down list.

    • Choose Compatible with all systems and devices (MBR/DOS) in the Partitioning drop-down list.

  7. Click Format….

  8. In the confirmation dialog, make sure that the device is correct. Click Format to confirm.